Position: Index>>News>>Content

Professor Kong Xianjing of DUT has been elected as the member of Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE)

Nov 28, 2017 Jing Wei

On Nov.27, Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) published new members elected 2017 on its official website and Professor Kong Xianjing of DUT has been added in the list of faculty of CivicHydraulic and Constructional Engineering. Up to now, there are 11 professors of DUT have been elected as members of CAE or Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Prof. Kong has devoted himself to research and practices of utilizing erath-rockfill dam in earthquake-resistance over 30 years, playing a leading role in this field. Mr. Kong is a scholar of great renown whose extensive research has made significant contributions to both of the theory and practice of anti-seismic subject.

Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) is an institution of China, functioning as the national scientific think tank and academic governing body, providing advisory and appraisal services. Member of CAE is the highest academic title in engineering science and technology in China. It is a lifelong honor. The election of new members is conducted biennially. The election of new members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) in 2017 was formally launched at the beginning of the year. Through the two channels of nomination - academic groups’ nomination through China Association for Science and Technology (CAST) and CAE members’ nomination, a total of 533 valid candidates were nominated. From June 4 to 10, the first round of assessment meeting was held and 205 candidates who can enter the second round of assessment were elected. After the completion of the first round of assessment meeting, according to the relevant provisions, the materials of the candidates were open to public for checking and reviewing. Investigation of complaints were carried out. From October 30 to November 3, the second round of assessment and election meetings was held. After the election of various academic divisions and the final election on the general meeting of all the members, 67 members were newly elected.