Position: Index>>News>>Content

DUT Joined the World Alliance of Universities on Carbon Neutrality as a Founding Member

Nov 15, 2021 

Jointly initiated by Southeast University and University of Birmingham, the founding ceremony of World Alliance of Universities on Carbon Neutrality (WAUCN) was held in Nanjing recently. President Guo Dongming and Vice President Song Yongchen attended the inauguration ceremony online.




This is the first world alliance of universities focusing on talent training and research cooperation in the field of carbon neutrality technologies. The founding members of the Alliance include DUT and more than 10 other “Double First-Class” universities, the University of Birmingham and other world-renowned universities. Nearly 30 universities and research institutes around the world joined the Alliance.

The initiative of building the WAUCN in the new era aims to leverage universities’ profound research resources in basic science and extensive interdisciplinary integration, and speed up constructing systems for carbon neutrality talent cultivation and scientific innovation in universities. Via the Alliance, cooperation and exchanges among global universities will be further promoted, so as to carry out joint talent cultivation and scientific research in carbon neutrality technologies in an all-round way, and proactively strengthen international cooperation in addressing climate change.

Founding members of WAUCN

  • Southeast University

  • Beihang University

  • Tianjin University

  • Dalian University of Technology

  • Harbin Institute of Technology

  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University

  • Tongji University

  • Huazhong University of Science and Technology

  • Chongqing University

  • Xi’an Jiaotong University

  • North China Electric Power University

  • China University of Mining and Technology

  • University of Science and Technology of China

  • Zhejiang University

  • South China University of Technology

  • University of Birmingham

  • Chiang Mai University

  • University of Kentucky

  • Khalifa University

  • Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

  • Monash University

  • The University of Edinburgh

  • Imperial College London

  • Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

  • Korea University

  • Federal University of Minas Gerais

  • University of Nottingham

  • South Ural State University(National Research University)

Editor: Li Xiang